Home > Uncategorized > Photography and Flickr

Photography and Flickr

I’ve just upgraded my Flickr account to ‘Pro’, which gives me the chance to get my photographs in order and put the best of them up there for all to see. I did this for two reasons: firstly to force me to sort out my collection of some 15,000 shots (most of which are not high quality, of course) and rescue some sense of purpose from the pure pleasure that photography brings me, but secondly so that, with that purpose, I can perhaps attract the attention of people or organisations who would like me to do more of it.

I did notice two apparently contradictory things when I’d uploaded (and the process is ongoing, by the way):

  • I found it very hard to choose which photos I wanted to upload. It was relatively easy to choose the best ones, but should I also upload some of the ‘second best’ ones, just to show my creative breadth, or should I relent for fear of decreasing the average quality of my images?
  • After uploading, I realised that I actually had very few really excellent pictures as a proportion of the total number I have in Lightroom – around 1% seems to be about the figure that I see reported from other photographers. Solution: take more photographs!

Anyway, here is the link.

I should think I can integrate some kind of Flickr functionality on WordPress too, so that’s something else to tinker with…

  1. guy holmes
    July 6, 2011 at 8:19 am

    Hello Chris,
    just a brief email to wish you well and hope that life is treating you well. On occaissions I am consumed by nostalgia and look up long distant acquaintances. Yours just happened to be one of them.
    Would love to hear from you or even by you a beer sometime.
    All the best,
    Guy.

  2. July 6, 2011 at 8:35 am

    Hi Guy,

    Long time! Yes, things have changed a great deal in 15 years: married, 2 children, working as a knowledge engineer at QI. Very happy!

    How’s the laser business thriving? And how are you?

    Cheers,

    -C

    P.S. I removed your contact details from your post, otherwise the hundreds of millions of people who regularly visit my blog will spam you to death.

  3. guy holmes
    August 1, 2011 at 4:23 pm

    Chris,
    very good to hear from you, and to hear about your burgeoning family and job with QI.

    Thanks muchly for protecting me from the evil world of spam. I am an ingenu at this sort of thing.

    Yes, the laser industry still keeps me well employed. I know of nothing else that could do now. I should probably learn a trade, or buy a musical instrument, just to be on the safe side.

    All is well here. Fiona and I have been married for 9 years (tomorrow), and we still live in Cambridge. You did meet her once, many years ago, but I doubt whether you will remember her. We don’t have kids but are blessed with a surfeit of nephews and nieces, all of whom seem to enjoy our doting largesse.

    Are you still living in the Brizzle area?

    Best etc
    Guy.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

